Dated & sourced
Before you travel

Dubai SIM cards and mobile data: what the operators publish

Two operators sell visitor SIMs in Dubai and neither publishes a readable price for its main visitor plans on a page a machine can read. e& names three — Visitor Line Premium, Premium + and Unlimited, all 28 days — and tells you to dial *101# to find out what they cost. du does publish its tourist bundle prices, on shop.du.ae: AED 199 for 7 days, AED 299 for 14 and AED 499 for 28, each with unlimited data. That page is blocked to automated fetching by du’s own robots file and renders only in JavaScript, so we read it in a browser by hand on 4 September 2026 and say so below.

What e& publishes

e& visitor products, as published on eand.ae
ProductPriceIncludes Validity
Visitor Line PremiumNot publishedNot published28 days
Visitor Line Premium +Not publishedNot published28 days
Visitor Line UnlimitedNot publishedNot published28 days
Transit PackAED 50 1 GB, 10 local or international minutes, free UAE wifi48 hours, repeatable
Ordinary prepaid SIMNot visitor-specificAED 40 “pre-loaded credit worth AED 40”, online only—

Pack shapes are published even where prices are not: a data-and-wifi pack, a voice-and-SMS pack and a combined pack, in 24-hour, 48-hour, 7-day, 14-day and 28-day validities, for “All visitors/recurring visitors to the UAE ages 18 and above”. The perks are priced where the plans are not — free SIM and activation “(saves AED 125)”, free 24-hour delivery “(saves AED 125)”, 25% off two Hala rides, 15% off five Careem rides.

The same four charges, at two different prices

e& publishes its out-of-bundle rates twice, on two of its own live pages, and the two do not match. Only one of the pages says whether VAT is in the figure.

Out-of-bundle charges on two e& pages
ChargeVisitor Line pagefootnoted “*5% VAT included” Transit Pack pageno VAT statement
Local callsAED 0.63/min0.60/min
Local SMSAED 0.190.18
International SMSAED 0.630.60

The lower set looks like the same figures before VAT. But that is arithmetic, not a statement by the operator, and we are not going to present our arithmetic as its position. What follows practically is the thing worth knowing: a visitor cannot tell from the Transit Pack page whether AED 50 is the amount that will be charged.

One genuine trap is published clearly and deserves repeating in the operator’s own words: data on a Visitor Line is “Restricted to prevent accidental charges”, and out-of-bundle data runs at “AED 1.05 per 20 MB with a daily limit of AED 9.45”.

Registration: what you actually need

The regulator sets this, and its rules are clear. TDRA states the required document by category: “Visitors: Passport or GCC National ID”, and a cap of “Up to two SIM cards per service provider” for visitors, against five for residents. e& repeats it in its own terms: “Make sure you have the physical passport and visa copy available in order to issue the SIM” and “A maximum of 2 Visitor Line SIMs are eligible per passport”.

Two things to correct if you have read otherwise. No operator states a biometric or facial-recognition requirement for activating a visitor SIM — facial recognition appears only for converting an existing line in the app. And the Visitor Line’s validity is tied to your stay: “The Visitor Line validity is the same as the validity of your VISA upon arrival to the UAE”.

TDRA does contradict itself on the same FAQ page: one answer permits a passport for visitors, another states that “SIM registration is only allowed using the original Emirates ID”. The second is framed around identity fraud and reads as not written with visitors in mind. Both are published; we quote both.

Where to buy one, and the hours nobody publishes

Here is an oddity worth knowing before you land. Neither operator’s own website mentions DXB or any terminal. e&’s published answer on where to buy is generic: “By visiting your nearest e& Business Centre, outlet or partner with a valid passport and visa.”

The airport information exists only on Dubai Airports’ own site, which lists both operators at Terminal 1 Arrivals, Terminal 2 Main Terminal and Terminal 3 Arrivals, and states that du provides “free tourist SIMs at DXB’s immigration counters”. What nobody publishes — not the operators, not Dubai Airports — is the opening hours of any of those counters. Neither says “24 hours”. Dubai Airports’ FAQ has no SIM-card entry at all.

If you land late, the fallback is published and free: “unlimited, free, high-speed Wi-Fi, across all areas of DXB and DWC”, on the networks DXB Free WiFi and DWC Free WiFi. No time limit and no data cap is stated — so the common “free for two hours then paid” framing is not what Dubai Airports says.

Calling apps: what the regulator actually says

This is the most misreported subject in the category, so here it is from the regulator rather than from a summary of it. TDRA states that “Voice and video calls are considered Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) services that are a regulated activity in the UAE” and that such services “shall be provided by the licensed service providers or in collaboration with them”.

TDRA does not publish a list of blocked apps. It publishes a list of approved ones, and the policy makes anything not licensed or approved illegal by default. That asymmetry is exactly what gets lost in translation. The published approved list names Microsoft Teams, Skype for Business, Zoom, Google Meet (meeting only), Cisco Webex, Slack, BOTIM and others. WhatsApp, FaceTime, Messenger, Signal and Telegram are not on it.

Two things about that list are worth flagging rather than repeating uncritically. The governing policy document behind it is dated 30 December 2009 — written before WhatsApp calling existed. And the list still names Totok, an app removed from both major app stores in 2019, and “Etisalat Cloud Talk Meeting”, under branding the operator retired. The list carries no review date.

What du publishes

Every path on du.ae is disallowed to automated fetching by du’s own robots file, and its shop renders only in JavaScript, so nothing here came from a fetch. These figures were read off shop.du.ae in a browser, by hand, on 4 September 2026, and are quoted as the page displayed them. du also prints an approximate US-dollar figure beside each bundle; we do not carry it, because a converted price is not a price.

du tourist bundles, as displayed on shop.du.ae on 4 September 2026
BundlePriceData Minutes
7 days validitymarked “Best Value” AED 199Unlimited100 local & international
14 days validitymarked “Best Value” AED 299Unlimited200 local & international
28 days validityAED 499Unlimited 400 local & international
Tourist eSIMNot published on this page10 GB Not stated — du states “valid for 24 hrs with instant activation”

du does not state on that page whether these prices include VAT, and it labels two of the three bundles “Best Value” simultaneously. The page footer reads “© Copyright 2026 EITC”, which is the only date stamp on it — a copyright year is not a revision date, so treat the figures as of the day we read them, not as of 2026.

This replaces what this page said until 4 September 2026, which was that du’s prices could not be verified at all. They could — by a person, not by a fetch. The distinction is worth keeping: a page that only a human can read is still published, and we should not have let “our tools cannot reach it” stand in for “the operator publishes nothing” for as long as we did.

Also not published by anyone: a visitor eSIM price from e& (it has no visitor eSIM product at all), and a compatible-device list for a visitor eSIM from either operator. Two more oddities on official estates: e&’s current visitor terms still refer to “the TRA registration rules”, using a regulator name retired in 2020, and du’s tourist-plan press releases from 2015 and 2016 are still live and still surfacing on searches for current plans.

Related: getting from the airport into the city, and what the visa itself costs.

Plans and prices are transcribed from the two licensed operators and change frequently. Registration requires identity documents under TDRA rules that we transcribe but do not interpret.

More in Before you travel

See everything in Before you travel.

Common questions

How much is a tourist SIM in Dubai?

du publishes three tourist bundles, all with unlimited data: AED 199 for 7 days, AED 299 for 14 and AED 499 for 28, read off shop.du.ae by hand on 4 September 2026 because du blocks automated reading of its own site. e& does not price its three Visitor Line plans at all and tells you to dial *101# to find out; its only priced visitor product is the Transit Pack at AED 50 for 1 GB and 10 minutes over 48 hours. Neither operator states whether these figures include VAT.

What do I need to buy a SIM card in Dubai?

A physical passport and a visa copy. The regulator states the requirement for visitors is a “Passport or GCC National ID”, capped at two SIM cards per operator. No operator states a biometric requirement for a visitor SIM.

Can I get a free SIM at Dubai airport?

Dubai Airports states that du provides “free tourist SIMs at DXB's immigration counters”, and lists both operators at Terminal 1 Arrivals, Terminal 2 and Terminal 3 Arrivals. Nobody publishes the counters' opening hours — not the operators, not the airport.

Is there free wifi at Dubai airport?

Yes, and there is no published limit on it. Dubai Airports states “unlimited, free, high-speed Wi-Fi, across all areas of DXB and DWC”, on the networks DXB Free WiFi and DWC Free WiFi. The common “free for two hours” framing is not what it says.

Does WhatsApp calling work in Dubai?

The regulator publishes an approved list, not a blocked one, and anything not licensed or approved is illegal by default under its policy. WhatsApp, FaceTime, Messenger, Signal and Telegram are not on the approved list. Teams, Zoom, Google Meet, Webex, Skype for Business and BOTIM are.

Can I get an eSIM for Dubai from a local operator?

du sells one: 10 GB valid for 24 hours, which it describes as instant and fully digital. It publishes no price for it on that page — the AED 199/299/499 figures are the physical tourist bundles, not the eSIM. e& publishes no visitor eSIM product at all. Neither publishes a compatible-device list.

Details verified 4 September 2026 Sources: e& Visitor Line, TDRA and Dubai Airports, and shop.du.ae. du’s pages are blocked to automated reading by its robots file, so the du figures on this page were read in a browser by hand on 4 September 2026 rather than fetched Reviewed by Dan-Ionuț Ciobanu Spotted something out of date? Tell us.