Dated & sourced
Tickets & prices

Free things to do in Dubai, split by what is actually published

We hold 237 venue pages built from operators’ own sources. Exactly one of them carries an unqualified operator sentence saying entry is free. Emaar writes that you can “enjoy Dubai Fountain free of charge from the promenade”. One more comes close and is in the table below with its qualification attached: Loco Bear writes “free entry” and then charges for every activity inside. Visit Dubai, the government tourism site, also calls The Viewing Point at Dubai Creek Harbour “free-to-enter”. Everything else that appears on a free-things-to-do list — the Palm Jumeirah Boardwalk, Ras Al Khor, Mohammed Bin Rashid Library, Dubai Marina Walk — is unpriced, not free. Nobody charges you and nobody has written down that they won’t. Those are two different situations and this page keeps them apart.

Published as free, in the operator’s own words

Places where an operator or authority has written that access costs nothing
PlaceThe published wording
The Dubai FountainEmaar “Enjoy Dubai Fountain free of charge from the promenade.” The paid options are separate and priced: the Boardwalk at AED 25 and the Lake Ride at AED 75. Show times and viewing spots
Loco BearOperator “Free entry” — but the operator immediately qualifies it: guests pay for the activities they choose. Free entry to a venue whose entire purpose is paid activities is a marketing statement, not a free day out
The Viewing PointVisit Dubai “The free-to-enter structure”, “open all hours”. The developer, Emaar, does not mention admission; the statement is the government tourism site’s. Viewing Point

That is the complete list of published free statements across our whole venue set. Three entries, one of which is a paywall with an open door.

Unpriced, which is the honest word for most of the list

No operator charges at these places as far as we can establish, and no operator or authority has published a fee, a ticket, or a statement that entry is free. We list them because they are worth your afternoon, and we label them because the difference matters the day somebody introduces a charge and no page anywhere has to be corrected.

Checked against each operator’s own site, 4 September 2026
PlaceWhat the operator publishes
Palm Jumeirah Boardwalk Nakheel publishes no entry fee, no ticket and no statement of free access on any page we could find — and no dedicated car park, fee or capacity either. Boardwalk page
Ras Al Khor Wildlife Sanctuary Dubai Municipality lists no admission price and does not state that entry is free. Sanctuary page
Mohammed Bin Rashid Library “No admission fee is published” — the operator publishes hours, dress code and entry conditions and simply never mentions money. Library page
The malls, as buildings None of the 33 malls on this site publishes an entry charge, and only The Beach JBR states that entry is free. Opening hours, compared
Souk Al Bahar, City Walk, the Marina, Creek Harbour Open districts with no gate. Each publishes hours and parking tariffs and no admission price at all. The souks · City Walk

Nearly free, with the figure the operator publishes

What we will not tell you

Free-things lists elsewhere carry confident claims we cannot source. Visit Dubai does call the Gold Souk “free to visit”, but no authority publishes who operates it, let alone an admission policy. We are not going to publish that a specific beach has free parking, because Parkin’s zone tables and the beach pages are separate documents and neither maps onto the other. And we do not publish a “free walking tour” anywhere, because every one of them is a commercial operator working for tips.

The pattern behind all of it is the one this site keeps finding: Dubai’s public spaces are generously unpriced and almost never documented. The catalogue of what goes unsaid.

Questions no authority answers

More in Tickets & prices

See everything in Tickets & prices.

Common questions

What is actually free in Dubai, in an operator's own words?

Across all 237 venue pages on this site, two operator sentences use the word free about entry: Emaar's, saying you can 'enjoy Dubai Fountain free of charge from the promenade', and Loco Bear's 'free entry' — which it immediately qualifies by charging for every activity inside. Everything else on a free-things list, Dubai Marina Walk included, is unpriced rather than published as free.

Is the Palm Jumeirah Boardwalk free?

Almost certainly, and Nakheel has never written it down. It publishes no entry fee, no ticket and no statement of free access on any page we could find — and no dedicated boardwalk car park, fee or capacity either.

Does Ras Al Khor Wildlife Sanctuary charge admission?

Dubai Municipality lists no admission price and does not state that entry is free. That is the whole published record. The same is true of Mohammed Bin Rashid Library. The Viewing Point at Dubai Creek Harbour is different: Visit Dubai calls it “free-to-enter”.

What is the cheapest thing you can pay for in Dubai?

The abra across the Creek at AED 1, published by RTA. Municipal parks run AED 3 to AED 5 where Dubai Municipality publishes a figure at all, and for several parks it publishes none.

Do Dubai malls charge for entry?

None does — and none says so in writing either. No mall in Dubai publishes an entry charge or a statement that entry is free.

Every free statement above checked on 4 September 2026, against the operator’s own source Cross-checked against all 237 venue pages on this site Reviewed by Dan-Ionuț Ciobanu Found a published free statement we missed? Tell us.