Gold in Dubai: the published rate, and the number it leaves out
No government authority publishes a consumer gold rate for Dubai. The daily figure everyone quotes comes from the Dubai Jewellery Group, a trade body, and its own published title is “Today’s Suggested Retail Gold Jewellery Price” in “Rates in AED / Gram” for 24K, 22K, 21K, 18K and 14K. That rate prices the gold content. The making charge sits on top of it and no authority publishes a cap, a range, a disclosure duty or even a definition of it. You cannot compute a final price from the published rate, and nothing published lets you check the one you are quoted.
Who publishes the rate, and what we can and cannot verify
The rate appears on dubaicityofgold.com, which describes itself as “the industry
body established in 1996 under the directives of Dubai Economy & Tourism”. We could
not find any government page — not Visit Dubai, not Dubai DET, not Dubai Municipality,
not the Media Office — that links to or names that domain as the Dubai Jewellery
Group’s official site. A near-identical lookalike domain publishing the same style of rate table
also exists. So we publish it as what it is: a claimed trade body whose identity we could not
verify against any authority source, and whose figures we therefore do not reproduce as a
current price.
We do not print today’s rate. It changes through the day, the publisher shows a live “updated X minutes ago” stamp with no fixed publication time, no cut-off and no archive, and a figure printed here would be wrong within the hour and unfalsifiable afterwards. What is durable is the mechanism, and that is what this page carries.
Is the rate binding on shops? The publisher contradicts itself
| Page | What it says |
|---|---|
| The rate page itself | Titled “Today’s Suggested Retail Gold Jewellery Price”. “Suggested” is the operative published word |
| The same body’s value page | “The Dubai Jewellery Group further strengthens consumer confidence by announcing a unified gold price, ensuring transparency and uniformity across all stores” |
Suggested, or unified across all stores. Both from the same publisher. No authority anywhere states that shops must sell at any published rate — not the hallmarking law, not its executive regulation, not the consumer protection law, not Dubai Municipality. And the regulator’s power to set prices, under Law No. 5 of 2023, is an emergency power for “times of emergencies, crises, and disasters”, not a general one.
Making charges: the whole published record, in one sentence
“Many stores price jewellery based on gold weight plus making charges, offering exceptional value for money.”
That is it. One sentence, from the trade body, hedged with “many stores” rather than “all” or “must”. Every percentage, typical range and negotiating tip you will read elsewhere comes from jewellery shops, bullion dealers and aggregators. We publish none of it.
What is genuinely regulated, and by whom
Visit Dubai’s Gold Souk page makes a strong claim in DET’s own words: “All merchandise is government regulated so what you buy is genuine.” No citation, no qualification, no remedy stated. Here is what actually sits behind it.
- Federal Law No. (11) of 2015 on Precious Metals and Gemstones Control and Hallmarking, and Cabinet Resolution No. (45) of 2018, its executive regulations — both named as the applicable framework on Dubai Municipality’s own certification page, last modified 3 September 2026.
- Article 4(1): processed items must be stamped with the official stamp per Annex 3, or labelled where size prevents stamping. Labels must be “clear and may not be removed” and made of “durable and long-term material”.
- Annex 3: metal-identifying symbols — a falcon for gold, a castle for silver, a palm for platinum.
- Article 8(1): gold is deemed low-carat below 500 parts per thousand.
- Enforcement: Dubai Municipality’s Central Laboratory lists “Gold and Jewellery shops inspection” under its ISO/IEC 17020:2012 accreditation. It is also “accredited by UAE Ministry of Economy as a reference laboratory for precious stones and metals” and the first Middle East laboratory registered with CIBJO.
A real gap inside the instrument: Annex 1 lists explicit fineness ranks for platinum (999, 950, 900, 850) and palladium (999, 950, 500) and does not list gold carats at all, deferring instead to “international standards issued by the World Jewellery Confederation (CIBJO)”. The permitted gold finenesses are not stated in the served English text.
Testing your gold, and the receipt that will not help you
Dubai Municipality announced on 14 October 2025 what it calls “the world’s first smart self-service device for testing the purity of precious metals”, using spectroscopic analysis, X-ray and AI, returning a result in under a minute, first installed at the Gold Souk in Deira. That is the good news. The announcement does not state the cost, the hours, the exact location, or whether a result can be used to support a complaint, and we found no service page for it on dm.gov.ae. Announced, details unpublished.
And the receipt. Federal Law No. 15 of 2020, Article 8(3), requires a supplier to “provide the Consumer with a dated Invoice that includes his trade name, address, type of Good, its Price and quantity”. Cabinet Resolution No. 66 of 2023, Article 6, expands that to provider details, date, description, quantity, price, warranty, serial numbers and registration.
Neither requires the invoice to state the gram weight, the carat, or the making charge as separate lines. The three numbers that would let you check the deal are not required to appear on the document you take home. The only weight-and-description obligation in the hallmarking regulation, Annex 4, attaches to precious stones above threshold weights, not to the gold.
Taking it home: three official sources, three formulations
| Source | What it publishes |
|---|---|
| Dubai CustomsPassenger Customs Guide, Version 6 – 2025 | “Arriving/departing passengers aged 18 years and above must fill out the Customs Declaration Form to declare any cash or cheques, promissory notes, payment orders, precious metals or stones in their possession with value exceeding AED 60,000” |
| u.aeLast updated 06 May 2026 | More than AED 60,000 “in cash or an amount equivalent to this in other currencies, financial instruments, precious metals or valuable stones” must be declared — but to ICP, not Dubai Customs, via the official website or the “Afseh” app |
| Dubai Customs iDeclareThe same authority’s own page | Asks two separate questions: cash “totaling or equivalent to AED 60,000 or more?” and “Any Jewellery, gold, silver and other precious metals?” — with no threshold on the second at all, and omitting stones |
There is no published limit on how much gold you may take out of the UAE. There is a declaration threshold, which is a different thing, and the two are routinely confused.
One more item almost nobody cites. Dubai Customs’ FAQ, updated 02/09/2026, states how jewellery is valued: “The value of jewelry is based on the carat type and weight, while the price of each gram is as per the international gold burse prices at the time of declaration clearance.” So the value that decides whether you cross AED 60,000 is not the value on your receipt, and no authority tells a traveller how to find it. Customs allowances in full
Questions no authority answers
- What will I actually pay per gram? The rate covers gold content. Making charges are entirely unpublished.
- Must a shop sell at the published rate? No authority says yes. No authority says no.
- Must a shop display the rate at all? No published requirement, from anyone.
- Is VAT inside the published rate? Not even the trade body says.
- Is that rate for buying, or also for selling back? Nothing published on buy-back rates, spreads or obligations.
- Is bargaining expected, and over which part? DET promotes the souk and publishes no guidance whatsoever.
- What if the shop’s board and the published rate differ? No dispute mechanism exists for a rate discrepancy.
- When is the Gold Souk open? No authority publishes hours, Friday prayer closures or Ramadan hours — and no authority publishes who operates or owns it. The souks
- How do I read a UAE hallmark? The symbols sit in an annex to a Cabinet Resolution. No authority publishes a consumer guide to them.
- Is there a list of licensed or inspected gold shops? None found.
More in Tickets & prices
See everything in Tickets & prices.
Common questions
Who sets the daily gold rate in Dubai?
No government authority publishes one. The daily figure comes from the Dubai Jewellery Group, a trade body, under the published title 'Today's Suggested Retail Gold Jewellery Price' in 'Rates in AED / Gram' for 24K, 22K, 21K, 18K and 14K. We could find no government page naming or linking to that site, and a lookalike domain exists.
Must a Dubai shop sell at the published gold rate?
No authority says it must, and no authority says it need not. The publisher's own two pages disagree: the rate page says 'Suggested', while its value page claims a 'unified gold price, ensuring transparency and uniformity across all stores'.
What are making charges, and are they regulated?
The entire published record on them is one hedged sentence from the trade body: 'Many stores price jewellery based on gold weight plus making charges.' No authority publishes a cap, a range, a disclosure duty or a definition. You cannot compute a final price from the published rate.
Must my gold receipt state the weight, carat and making charge?
No. Federal Law 15/2020 Article 8(3) requires 'type of Good, its Price and quantity'. Neither it nor Cabinet Resolution 66/2023 requires the gram weight, the carat or the making charge as separate lines — the three numbers you would need to check the deal.
How much gold can I take out of the UAE?
No limit is published. There is a declaration threshold, which is different. Dubai Customs' 2025 guide and u.ae both put precious metals in a combined AED 60,000 basket applying on departure as well as arrival — while Dubai Customs' own iDeclare page asks about gold separately with no threshold at all.
At what price is my jewellery valued for the AED 60,000 threshold?
Dubai Customs publishes: 'the price of each gram is as per the international gold burse prices at the time of declaration clearance.' So the value that decides whether you cross the threshold is not the value on your receipt, and no authority tells a traveller how to find that price.