The remote work visa: one instrument, published under two names
There is one federal virtual work residence visa, administered by ICP nationally and by GDRFA within Dubai. “Dubai’s Virtual Working Programme” is the 2020 marketing name it was launched under. The UAE government portal declines to say whether they are the same thing — its own word is that Dubai’s programme is “similar to” the remote work visa — and then attaches different income figures to each heading on one page. That is the finding, and everything below follows from it.
The income threshold: USD 3,500 or USD 5,000
| Source | Published threshold |
|---|---|
| ICPFederal service catalogue | “Salary certificate (USD 3,500) or its equivalent in foreign currencies” |
| GDRFA Dubai, entry visa stage | “proof that he has a monthly income of no less than (3,500) US dollars or the equivalent” |
| GDRFA Dubai, residence permit stage | Salary certificate, USD 3,500 minimum or equivalent |
| u.ae, “remote work visa” heading | “a monthly income of USD 3,500” |
| u.ae, “Dubai’s virtual working programme” headingSame page, and a dedicated sub-page | “earn a minimum salary of USD 5,000 per month”, plus last month’s salary slip and three months of bank statements |
What we can say without inventing anything: the two authorities that actually process the application — ICP and GDRFA — both publish 3,500, and the 5,000 figure appears only under the portal’s Dubai-programme headings. No authority states which supersedes which, so we print both and stop there.
A second divergence on the same subject: the company-ownership route appears only on u.ae — proof of ownership for a year or more and an average monthly income of USD 5,000. Neither ICP’s nor GDRFA’s requirement list mentions company ownership at all; both ask only for proof of remote employment with an organisation outside the UAE. A self-employed founder reading the processing authority’s page would not find their route.
Fees: three published schedules, no total
| Authority | Fees as published |
|---|---|
| ICP | Application AED 100, issuance AED 100, smart services AED 100. VAT not stated anywhere on the page. Service delivery 2 days; overstay fine AED 50 per day after expiry |
| GDRFA Dubai, entry stage | Virtual work visa AED 200 + 5% VAT, Knowledge Dirham AED 10, Innovation Dirham AED 10, AED 500 if the applicant is inside the country. GDRFA’s own caveat: “The total amount of the visa may vary depending on the circumstances” |
| GDRFA Dubai, residence stage | A second set: permit AED 200, Knowledge Dirham AED 10, Innovation Dirham AED 10, AED 500 inside country, delivery AED 20, and AED 100 per year beyond two years |
| u.ae | “The fees for the virtual working programme is USD 287 per person” — a dollar figure for a dirham-denominated fee — followed by “In addition, you need to pay the premium for medical insurance…and the processing fees”, having just called USD 287 the fee |
We do not convert USD 287 into dirhams and we do not add these schedules together. VAT is stated by GDRFA and not by ICP. No authority publishes a medical examination fee or an Emirates ID fee for this route, though GDRFA’s residence page lists medical fitness results and an ID receipt among the required documents. Anyone quoting an all-in total is going beyond what is published. Visa fees and overstay fines
The rest of the published terms
- Two stages, which u.ae never mentions. GDRFA publishes an entry visa first — 60 days initially — then a one-year residence permit. Processing 48 hours at both stages. A reader of u.ae alone would not know a two-stage process exists.
- Duration: one year, renewable on re-application. GDRFA publishes a 60-day grace period after expiry or cancellation.
- Passport validity: minimum six months, consistently across all three authorities.
- Health insurance: required by u.ae and by both GDRFA pages, not mentioned at all by ICP. No authority publishes a minimum level, sum insured, network or approved insurer.
- Family: u.ae says “you can also bring your family along”; GDRFA says “for the same period, he can sponsor his family”. Neither publishes terms — no income threshold, no eligible-relative list, no fee schedule.
Two things we are not going to tell you
Whether you may work for a UAE company while holding it. ICP requires “proof of remote employment outside the United Arab Emirates”; GDRFA requires proof the work is done remotely with an outside organisation. Those are entry conditions on where your employer is. No authority publishes a statement about what you may additionally do once resident, and converting the eligibility condition into a prohibition would be inventing a rule.
Your tax position. The only taxation wording we found on any of these pages is “zero income tax for individuals” — in a benefits list, alongside “telecommunications, utilities, medical and schooling”, on an archived u.ae page. It is launch marketing copy, not a statement of tax residency rules. The live pages carry no taxation statement at all, and neither ICP nor GDRFA mentions tax. Nothing published addresses your liability at home, the 183-day question, or UAE corporate tax. Money and payments
Working remotely on a tourist visa: the page that vanished
Your expectation is probably that nothing is published. It is worse than that. A page titled “Illegal to work on a visit or tourist visa” existed on the UAE government portal and now 404s in both English and Arabic, while remaining indexed and linked from search results. Its live parent page discusses visa categories and eligibility and does not address employment restrictions at all.
And even when that page existed, it concerned working in the UAE for a UAE employer. We found nothing published by ICP, GDRFA, u.ae or MOHRE addressing the question a digital nomad actually asks: whether opening a laptop in a Dubai hotel room, for an employer in Berlin, on a 30-day tourist visa, is permitted, prohibited or simply unregulated. There is no day threshold, no activity test, no safe harbour and no penalty published anywhere.
A warning about which site you are applying on
The top-ranked result for an official-looking remote work visa application is a
.ae domain that is not a government site. Its own footer states that it
is “a privately owned and operated website with no affiliation with the government of the United
Arab Emirates”. It publishes USD 5,000 as the threshold, adds a requirement that appears on
no government page whatsoever — that “AED 10 million in financial
solvency is needed” — and runs a live data-collection form.
The published official channels are ICP’s Smart App and Smart Services website, and GDRFA’s digital channels, Customer Happiness Centres and AMER Service Centres. Note that u.ae’s own heading “How to apply for the virtual working programme?” is followed by eligibility criteria and no application method, and Dubai’s Invest in Dubai landing page carries no requirements, no fee, no salary figure and no apply link — with “Vistual” misspelled in its live meta description on a Dubai government domain. No authority publishes a register of official visa channels or a warning list.
Questions no authority answers
- Which income figure applies? Both are official. Neither is withdrawn.
- What is the total cost? Not derivable from three schedules, one of which is in dollars.
- Does the fee include the medical test and Emirates ID? Never stated.
- What insurance is acceptable? Required, unspecified, and not mentioned by ICP at all.
- On what terms may I bring my family? “You can also bring your family along” is the entirety of it.
- May I take UAE work too? Neither permitted nor prohibited in anything published.
- Does self-employment qualify? On one portal, yes. On both processing authorities’ pages, unmentioned.
- What if my foreign job ends mid-visa? Nothing published.
- How many times may I renew? “Renewable”, with no limit, criteria or renewal fee published.
- May I work remotely as a tourist? The page that came closest to answering now 404s.
This is a transcription of what ICP, GDRFA and the government portal publish, not immigration or tax advice. Two official income thresholds and three fee schedules are in circulation; we print all of them rather than picking one.
More in Before you travel
See everything in Before you travel.
Common questions
What income do you need for the Dubai remote work visa?
Two official figures are in circulation. ICP and both GDRFA service pages publish USD 3,500; the government portal publishes USD 5,000 under its 'Dubai's virtual working programme' headings. No authority reconciles them. The two authorities that actually process the application both publish 3,500.
Is Dubai's virtual working programme the same as the UAE remote work visa?
The government portal declines to say. Its own word is that Dubai permits residence under the virtual working programme 'similar to the remote work visa' — neither same nor different — and then attaches different income figures to each heading on one page.
What does the Dubai remote work visa cost?
Three schedules, no total. ICP: AED 100 + AED 100 + AED 100, with VAT not stated. GDRFA: AED 200 + 5% VAT at the entry stage, then a second set at the residence stage. u.ae: 'USD 287 per person'. Medical examination and Emirates ID are required documents and are not priced on any of these pages.
Can you work remotely in Dubai on a tourist visa?
Nothing published answers it. The one government page whose title addressed working on a visit visa now 404s in both English and Arabic while remaining indexed — and even it concerned working for a UAE employer. No day threshold, activity test, safe harbour or penalty is published anywhere.
Is the remote work visa really tax-free?
The only taxation wording on any of these pages is 'zero income tax for individuals' — in a benefits list on an archived government page, alongside utilities and schooling. The live pages carry no taxation statement at all, and nothing published addresses your liability at home or the 183-day question.
Where do you actually apply?
The published official channels are ICP's Smart App and Smart Services website and GDRFA's digital channels, Customer Happiness Centres and AMER Service Centres. Note that a privately owned .ae domain ranks at the top of search with a live application form and a solvency requirement that appears on no government page.